Visit Website Latest News

General Information

Learning Progression


The following draft material is provided for your use as we renew the Religious Education Curriculum Framework.


The learning progression describes student learning in the five content areas in levels from Foundation to Level 12. The learning progression is organised in Scope and Sequence charts to support teachers to see the progression and assist in designing learning to meet the diverse needs of students. The learning progression also includes achievement standards in progression levels from Entry level (two levels below Foundation) to post Level 12. Both the content descriptors and the achievement standards are described through the three strands which are the basis for learning in Religious Education. They provide the organising schema for the learning descriptors and the achievement standards. Each strand names a key action of dialogue: explanation, interpretation, and reflection integrated into life. These actions draw you back to what students are doing in the process of dialogue at the heart of a Pedagogy of Encounter. Whether you are engaging students in learning or whether your intention is assessment, whether you are collegially planning for learning, or moderating student learning, the three strands are central. It is advised that the following charts are read in conjunction with the document as a whole. 


Learning Descriptors in the Scope and Sequence charts

Learning descriptors which summarise student learning have been written for each level in the five content areas through the three strands. They have been organised in a scope and sequence to ensure learning is appropriately ordered and that unnecessary repetition is avoided. However, learning content introduced at one level is often revisited, strengthened and extended at later levels. When planning student learning experiences, teachers seek ways to connect the learning described across content areas using student questions, issues and key concepts. Each scope and sequence chart is introduced with a statement giving an overview of the learning in the junior, middle, lower senior and upper senior years.


Overview of Foundation to Level 2

Students bring to the school a wide range of faith and spiritual experiences. These experiences are built upon in the curriculum as rich sources for further learning about God, religion and life.


Parents have a particularly important part to play in the educating community, since it is to them that the primary and natural responsibility for their children’s education belongs… The constant aim of the school therefore, should be contact and dialogue with the pupils’ families… in order to clarify with their indispensable collaboration that personalised approach which is needed for an educational project to be efficacious (The Catholic School on the Threshold of the Third Millennium, 1997).


From Foundation to Level 2, students engage with the stories about Jesus, some of the teachings of Jesus, and learn about historical figures in the history of the family of God. They explore biblical texts as story and as sources of prayer and inspiration. They reflect on and develop relationship with God and self-understanding. They engage in personal and communal prayer and liturgical experiences and develop reflective skills and dispositions of respect for the sacred. They develop heightened awareness of awe and wonder and delight in creation. They grow in appreciation of the other, understanding their impact on others and such concepts as fairness and justice. 


Overview of Levels 3-6

Students extend their learning about the background and person of Jesus and his relationships with the Father, his disciples and the people he came to serve. They explore old and new testament text, learning skills of interpretation by drawing on growing knowledge of context and genre. They learn about the structures of the Church, its foundations in community and its mission of service in the world. They consider the actions of God in the world and begin to explore ways other religious traditions celebrate this. They learn about and may receive the sacraments of Penance, Eucharist and Confirmation, as well as learning about the seven sacraments and their significance for today. They engage with the liturgical celebrations of the church year and the life of the faith community, past and present, exploring ways they can participate in and contribute to the church. They continue to develop their personal prayer life, spirituality and appreciation for the sacred. Students develop their understanding of Catholic teaching on the dignity of the human person and its implications for their choices personally and in community, learning to build just and compassionate relationships based on love and respect for self and others. 


Overview of Levels 7-10

Students develop their interpretative skills, considering literary structures of scripture passages and the impact of settings, styles and viewpoints of authors and audience in both old and new testaments. They develop appreciation of the Word as means of encounter with Jesus Christ. They explore the history of the Church, and the development of its distinctive ideas, teachings and practices, as well as the charisms of the saints. They extend their knowledge of religious diversity, identifying the particularity of the Catholic Tradition in the Australian context. They expand their experiences of personal and communal prayer and the variety of spiritual devotions in both the Catholic and other traditions, including appreciation of religious art and music throughout history. They focus on deepening understanding of Eucharist and its centrality to the Catholic Tradition. They deepen understanding of Catholic social teaching and its application to both personal and global issues, including sexuality, equity and ecology, developing skills of discernment, which reflect self-respect and respect for the other.

Overview of Levels 11-12

Students consider the person of Jesus and his impact on the world and on their lives. They identify the influence of the Bible and other sacred texts on the lives of believers and continue to appreciate the relationship Christians have with the Bible. They reflect on their own role in, and commitment to, the local and global Church or other faith traditions. They consider the diversity of religious traditions and their impact on Australian society. They explore their spirituality and the role of various forms of prayer and contemplation in their life. They continue to develop moral maturity and the skills of dealing with complexity and ambiguity in both personal and political decisions, such as sexuality, equity and ecology.